Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Book Review: Myths of Midwinter: The House of Crimson & Clover Volume VI

Publication Date:  10/20/2015


Quillan Sullivan lost his twin brother two decades ago, a tragedy he never fully experienced due to his unusual ability to see and talk to Riley when no one else can. He believes this "gift" is a fluke, until the haughty, vainglorious love of his life, Estella, returns after several years abroad, and rips his world apart. 

Estella Broussard loathes Quillan. He's the last person on Earth she'd ever bless with her presence. To her great dismay, he alone holds the key to achieving her deepest desire. She will do anything to reach her aims, no matter the warnings... no matter the cost to Quillan. 

Nerys guides Finn and Aleksandr on their mission to find Anasofiya and bring her home. Finn accepts her help, on the condition she keep no secrets. She relays what she knows... all except the visions her old companion has sent her, regarding a terrifying menace to the Deschanels back home: A necromancer has emerged, and this ominous knowledge has fallen into the wrong hands. 

The threads of fate weave the Deschanels and Sullivans down perilous paths, as a centuries-old warning emerges: Seduction to sinners. A legacy in splinters. Beware, the myths of midwinter.

My Review:

This is the latest in a fantastic series of unbelievable and fleshed out characters!  Get ready to have your emotions played with once again.  

Finn!  I have so many feels when it comes to Finn.  I have been loving on Finn for a bit now and to see the continuation of his journey is always one that hits you right in the heart.  

But the heart of this story is about Quillan and Estella.  I gotta be honest, I wanted to kill Quillan at times.  Honestly, this dude was one of the most frustrating characters in a book I have come across.  But I have to admit Estella is fantastic!  I love love love her!  

There are a few other characters that I love as well, like Lauren!  This world is getting bigger and more intense as we go along.  I am starting to wonder what it is all leading to!  I am super excited to find out!

I am not one to do spoilers, because why would you buy the book and read it then?  But I will give you a couple things to look out for.

One:  You have to read the series in order or you WILL be lost.
Two:  It is written in such a way that you bounce between character POV's
Three:  It's flippin awesome so go get it already!

Here is the reading list order:

The House of Crimson and Clover Series: 
Volume I: The Illusions of Eventide 
Volume II: Bound 
Volume III: Midnight Dynasty 
Volume IV: Asunder 
Volume V: Empire of Shadows 
Volume VI: Myths of Midwinter 

House of Crimson & Clover Series Prequels: 
The Storm and the Darkness 

La Famille Lagniappes (Character Bonus Stories): 
Flourish: The Story of Anne Fontaine 
Shame: The Story of Jonathan St. Andrews 

House of Crimson & Clover Lagniappes (Series Bonus Stories): 
St. Charles at Dusk: The Story of Oz and Adrienne 
Surrender: The Story of Oz and Anasofiya 
Fire & Ice: Remy & Fleur Fontenot 
Dark Blessing: The Landry Triplets 
Pandora's Box: Jasper and Pandora Broussard 
The Menagerie 

Box Sets: 
Lagniappes Collection I 
The House of Crimson & Clover Volumes I-IV

I give this 4 lipsticks!!!!!


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.