Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Midnight Dynasty: Malediction (The House of Crimson and Clover) Book 3: Act 1 Book Review!!!!

Publication Date:  6/10/14


Dive into the secret, ancient, powerful world of two New Orleans families, the Deschanels and the Sullivans… 

Midnight Dynasty Act I: Malediction, a novella, is the first of three serial installments of Book 3 in the House of Crimson & Clover Series. Not a standalone story, Dynasty’s plot makes the most sense only after having read at least Book 2, The Illusions of Eventide. 

The Deschanel Curse, dormant for a decade, has returned with a vengeance. 

Seers across the family are coming together, hopeful the Deschanel Magi Collective can solve this malediction that has plagued the family for nearly two centuries. 

But how do you combat the blood oath of a grieving mother? 

As the body count rises, it becomes apparent that strength, love, and ancient power provide no protection from destiny's cruel hand. 

The House of Crimson and Clover Series: 
Series Prequel - St. Charles at Dusk 
Book 0.5 - Beyond Dusk: Anne (novelette) 
Book 1 - The Storm and the Darkness 
Book 1.5 - Beyond Darkness: Shattered (novella) 
Book 2 - The Illusions of Eventide 
Book 2.5 - Beyond Eventide: Bound (novella) 
Book 3 - Midnight Dynasty (a serial novel in three acts) 
-----Act I: Malediction 
-----Act II: Convocation 
-----Act III: Omega 

House of Crimson & Clover Lagniappes (Bonus Stories): 
Surrender (included in the All Our Love anthology by Novel Grounds) 
Fire & Ice (included in the From the Ashes anthology by Dauntless Indies) 

Upcoming Releases: 
Book 3.5 - Beyond Midnight: Asunder (novella) 
Book 4- Empire of Shadows 
And many more to come... 

My Review:

Sarah has done it again!  Brought me into a story and left me wondering, what in the world is coming next?!  This review has taken me much too long to write given real life has been interfering, but I had some time today and I cannot sit on this any longer!  If you haven't read this series you really are missing out!

The Deschanel family is crazy unique.  It has a long standing history of both amazing gifts and a frightening curse.  Now suffice it to say with the good comes the bad, but in this family both are extremes.  I found myself sitting on the edge of my seat dreading and anticipating, in equal measure, the next page turn.  

I am not going to give away spoilers, it is a novella for crying out loud, but I will say you feel deeply for everyone involved.  Your emotions get tangled into this family and you feel as if the things surrounding them are surrounding you too.  I cannot wait for the next book!

Yes, you have heard correctly, you will need to read the others before this one.  But trust me, that journey will be one you will never forget or regret!  For those of you who have read the series, this will answer a lot of questions you may have from previous books.  Enjoy!

The best in the series yet...

I give this 5 lipsticks!


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.